My Favorite Kind Of Sandwich

Standard

It’s no secret that I’m into ice cream. When anyone asks me what my favorite food is, mint chocolate chip ice cream is the obvious answer. My obsession knows no boundaries. I’ve trudged through snow in Madison to get a scoop of orange custard chocolate chip, hands frozen and teeth chattering. It’s always worth it.

Lucky for me, my roommate shares a similar affinity for mint ice cream. Coincidentally, she and I also both like Whole Foods cranberry tuna, baked eggplant pasta, bangin’ bartha, Lou Malnati’s…this is a long list, so I’ll stop there. So when her birthday rolled around a few weeks ago, I knew what I had to make for her. I’ve had my eye on Smitten Kitchen’s ice cream sandwich recipe for some time, and her birthday was just the occasion for it.

This is a classic sandwich cookie recipe, so you can really use any flavor ice cream. Mint chocolate chip just happens to be the best, so I would recommend that. It’s more of a crunchy cookie rather than a traditional soft one, but it definitely does the job. I used Trader Joe’s mint chocolate chip and dipped the finished sandwiches in crushed Oreos. Just the right finishing touch.

Ice Cream Sandwich Cookies
Recipe adapted from Smitten Kitchen

2 2/3 cups (335 grams) all-purpose flour
2/3 cup plus 1/4 cup  unsweetened cocoa powder
2 1/2 sticks unsalted butter, softened
1 cup granulated sugar
1 teaspoon salt
2 large egg yolks
1 tablespoon vanilla extract

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Sift cocoa powder into a bowl with the flour. It is always very lumpy and hard to mix in, so I would recommend this step.
  2. Using the paddle attachment of a stand mixer (you can use a hand mixer if that’s all you have), cream together the butter, sugar, salt and vanilla until fluffy. Add in the egg yolks.
  3. With the mixer on low, slowly add the flour in, and scrape down the sides of the bowl.
  4. Put your bowl of dough in the freezer for about 15 minutes, until it is easier to handle.
  5. Roll out your dough into a square onto a lightly floured surface. You want it to be very thin, just about 1/4″ thick.
  6. Using a paring knife, cut a square around the edges of the dough. Cut that in half and, depending on how much your dough was rolled out, cut those halves in half again. Since this is a sandwich, you want to make these pretty small, so err on the smaller side. Make sure as you’re cutting these they are evenly sized so that the sandwiches have pairs.
  7. Using a knife, chopstick or similar object, poke holes into the cookies like a traditional ice cream sandwich.
  8. Bake for about 18 minutes. Cookies will be firm to the touch. Allow to cool thoroughly before making any sandwiches.
  9. Get out your gallon of ice cream. You shouldn’t have to let it sit at all. Put one scoop of ice cream in between Saran wrap, molding it into a flat, square shape. Very carefully put the ice cream in between two of the cookies, individually wrap and freeze immediately. You may need to break while you’re making these to put the ice cream back into the freezer so it doesn’t melt.

The ice cream sandwiches didn’t hold a birthday candle very well, but I think that was okay anyways. I made them a bit to large, so slivers have been slowly disappearing from them. It’s kind of like a never-ending birthday in our freezer – which is fine with me any time of year.

Leave a Reply

