It’s Okay to Go a Little Overboard Sometimes

Standard

I’ve always felt that brunch is not a meal to take lightly – both literally and figuratively. If it is supposed to combine two meals into one, it should be the size of two meals…right?

The British, unfortunately, do not agree with me. When I was abroad in London, I had an unfortunate experience at a trendy brunch spot in which I ordered “pancakes” for £12 only to find “pancake.” I was not happy with the singular nor was I particularly ecstatic with the thin, crepe-like thing on my plate.

Needless to say, I take brunch pretty seriously. And when I’m hungry, I like to take things into my own hands instead of waiting to be fed while I’m about to chew my arm off. Don’t cross me before I’ve eaten.

This past weekend was pretty much a brunch extravaganza. It all started on Saturday morning. With a bit of planning in advance, plus waking up all refreshed (read: not hungover), I was good to go. On the menu:

  • Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Coffee Cake (yes, that is a breakfast item)
  • Baked French toast with Caramelized Apples
  • Breakfast Potatoes with Mushrooms
  • Bacon
Yes, you read that one right. I am a good friend, and I will cook unkosher meat for only the very special people in my life. Sarah would probably say that it didn’t compare to Wando’s, but I won’t take offense.
Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Coffee Cake
Recipe from the Food Librarian
Topping:
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup flour
  • 1/4 cup peanut butter
  • 2 Tbsp. butter, melted
  • About 1 cup chocolate chips
Cake:
  • 1/2 cup peanut butter
  • 1/4 cup butter, softened
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 cups flour
  • 2 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1/2 tsp. baking soda
  • 1 cup milk
  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F. Mix topping ingredients and set aside. Note: if you don’t wait for butter to cool, chocolate will melt. That’s okay.
  2. Beat together peanut butter and butter until fluffy.
  3. Add brown sugar. Then in beat eggs on a medium speed one at a time.
  4. Alternately add in dry ingredients. Then, incorporate the milk.
  5. Pour batter into greased 9X9 pan. Sprinkle topping over the batter.
  6. Bake for about 30 minutes. Enjoy!
All in all, I’d it was enough food for 12 hungry antelopes. Or, like a lot of people. Then, Saturday was a brunch to impress. I was home with my family and was in the mood to make a ridiculous amount of food. And that I did. The menu:
  • Vanilla-Peach Crepes
  • Strawberry Oat Bars
  • Baked Apple Pancake
Oh, yes. It was just as good as it sounds…
And as good as it looks.
As usual, the star of the meal was the famous Baked Apple Pancake. If you’ve ever ordered this from Walker Bros. Pancake House, you’ll know what I’m talking about. This is no ordinary pancake. It’s really like a souffle. Sweet, caramelized apples baked into a pancake of fluffy goodness. If you don’t like it, we can’t be friends.
Oh, small problem…this recipe is TOP secret. I don’t know if I trust you enough to share it right now (and I may have accidentally deleted it from my email). So I’ll have to share it with you another time. To hold you over, just feast your eyes on this…
Hungry yet?
Leave a Reply

