It Isn’t a Holiday Without Funfetti

Standard

As holidays go, the 4th of July is pretty great. It’s all about eating, drinking, hanging out outside and getting a day off of work. My favorite combination. My other favorite thing? Potlucks. You get a little bit of everything, including things you never would’ve thought to make otherwise…like trifle (we’ll get to that later).

I decided to have a mini-potluck/party at my apartment on July 3rd. And the best part was that my favorite GingerFoodie assistant, Joanna, was in town for a visit. We went to the grocery store to “get inspired,” and here’s what we came up with.

I made mini Oreo cheesecakes. There is my trusty helper topping each one with some whipped cream. She also contributed a delicious corn and black bean salad. I also made some serious bruschetta.

Here’s a basic recipe for beautiful bruschetta. Good luck finding tomatoes this blindingly red. I can’t exactly give a more accurate recipe since I never use one – and I made enough bruschetta for an army.

  • fresh tomatoes, diced
  • fresh basil
  • garlic
  • olive oil
  • lemon juice
  • Salt and pepper, to taste
  • A fresh baguette
  1. Combine tomatoes, basil, garlic, a bit of olive oil, salt and pepper. Let sit for a bit to marinate.
  2. Slice bread thin and lay on a cookie sheet. Brush with a mixture of olive oil and garlic. Broil until just toasted for a few minutes.
  3. Allow the bread to cool, then top with tomato mixture.
Abby contributed a wonderful patriotic trifle. I know, I know. You’ve probably seen the recipe of Friends where Rachel makes her trifle with ground beef and peas. If you haven’t seen it, watch this right now. Well, Abby’s version was a bit more traditional than that – whipped cream, homemade brownies and strawberries! Some people thought she was trying to show me up…but she wouldn’t do that, right?
Also enough for 100 people. But this time I’m not exaggerating.
And you just can’t celebrate any kind of holiday without an appropriately themed Funfetti cake. It’s really a crowd favorite because…well, it’s amazing. I’m convinced the batter is laced with something because this cake is strangely addictive. Joanna and Sarah took this one on and really made me proud.
The largest fireworks we saw all night.

There were all kinds of other goodies contributed. Here, take a look…
The real star of the night was the drink of summer I introduced. The problem is, I just can’t reveal my recipe. Partly because I don’t want you to steal it, and partly because it sounds way to disgusting in writing. But I’m pretty sure someone told me I should be a bartender. Here’s an action shot for you:
Look away from the sword I’m using to stir it with. It’s no big deal.
Not your typical 4th of July? Well it was a pretty good one, and it was hard to compete with last year. I’m pretty sure a deep dish pie was involved. That reminds me…
One response »

  1. I need another one of those drinks. They were SOOO good. (throw in one of those mini Oreo cheesecakes too for good measure)

Leave a Reply

