The Best Cookies. Ever.

Standard

Waiting this long to write another blogpost has to warrant something good. Really good. And these English toffee cookies definitely have “The Best Thing I Ever Ate” potential.

So what have I been so busy doing, aside from making amazing cookies? I just got a freelance job writing food and dining reviews for AOL City’s Best in Chicago. My first piece – the best hidden sweet treats (obviously I came up with that one myself). Be on the lookout for the launch of the Chicago site sometime soon.

I don’t think I’ve ever made just regular cookies unless they have some element to make them extraordinary. And I knew right when I saw it that the English toffee from The Bent Fork would make my cookies extraordinary. The crunchy nuts, sweet chocolate and salty-sweet toffee gives the cookies an incredibly addictive aspect that’s just…Wow.

They’re so good, you’ll want to lick the bowl. And that’s not just an expression. I really did. I may have eaten two whole cookies worth of raw cookie dough. I don’t regret it at all. And I didn’t get salmonella either, Mom.

English Toffee Cookies
Adapted from Smitten Kitchen

2 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
3/4 cup unsalted butter, melted
1 cup brown sugar
1/2 cup granulated sugar
1 tablespoon vanilla extract, or a bit more if you’re feeling generous
1 egg
1 egg yolk
As much fresh English toffee as you can find

Check out the toffee chunk in that cookie. Good one.

  1. Preheat the oven to 325 degrees F and spray cookie sheets. You’ll need extra cookie sheets because these cookies spread a lot when baking.
  2. Combine flour, baking soda and salt. In a separate bowl, mix together melted butter and sugars.
  3. Pour the vanilla and eggs into liquid combination.
  4. Pour dry mixture in, and mix just until combined.
  5. Crush about half of your toffee with a mallet in a sealed bag. Crumble the other half by hand, breaking it into small chunks. Gently mix toffee into cookie dough.
  6. Refrigerate dough before baking. This will prevent the edges from burning. Then drop spoonfuls of dough on to cookie sheet.
  7. Only after you’ve already formed the cookies, use a spoon (or your hands) to eat the leftover dough in the bowl. If you do this before #6, you risk eating all of the dough before it’s baked. Good for you, not so much if you are making the cookies for someone else.
  8. Bake for about 15 minutes, or until slightly golden around the edges.
2 responses »

Leave a Reply

