A Sweet Weekend

Standard

My weekend began on Friday. I came back to Madison from a job interview to spend the day with my roommate, Staci, who was visiting from New York for the weekend. I was upset that I had to miss her arrival the night before but hoped all my time spent interviewing would be worth it in the end. Two (homemade apple cinnamon) muffins and half a (free, from the lobby) bagel later, I had begun catching up with Staci. I casually checked my phone, not expecting much at 10:30 a.m. and…

I got a job!!

Good news: I am no longer unemployed. Bad news: I can no longer be a full-time blogger. More good news: I can get a new camera!!!

Worst white balanca my camera has ever seen. Cute sign though.

After a sweet weekend, I decided to make some sugary muffins–cinnamon sugar doughnut muffins to be exact. These are my favorite go-to muffins when I don’t have fruit around. They’re great any time of year, and they are so cute when you make them mini (plus there’s even more sugar to go around that way). And don’t let the name fool you. These “doughnuts” are actually pretty healthy. Pretty much no butter, yogurt and whole wheat flour–but they definitely don’t taste like it.

Cinnamon Sugar Donut Muffins
Adapted from Laura Rebecca’s Kitchen

-2 cups flour (1 cup all-purpose flour and 1 cup whole wheat flour)
-1 tbsp baking powder
-½ tsp baking soda
-½ tsp salt
-1 tsp cinnamon
-2 extra-large eggs
-1 cup low-fat vanilla or plain yogurt (Don’t use fat-free it tastes weird. Another great alternative is to use Greek yogurt, but throw in a little honey to sweeten it up)
-2/3 cup packed brown sugar
-4 tbsp oil
1 tsp vanilla

Topping:
– A little less than 1/2 stick butter, melted
– 1/4 cup sugar
– 1 tsp cinnamon

1) Preheat oven to 400 degrees F. Spray your muffin tin.

2) Mix together  flour, baking powder, baking soda salt, and cinnamon in a large bowl. In a smaller bowl, whisk together eggs, yogurt, sugar, oil and vanilla.

3) Add wet ingredients to flour mixture. Do not overmix, even if the batter isn’t smooth. Just be sure that you don’t leave any flour unmixed at the bottom of the bowl…it happens.

4) Divide batter among the muffin cups. Whatever size works, from mini to giant popover-sized muffins. Bake until golden, from 12-15 minutes (a bit less for the mini-muffins).

5) In the meantime, melt 1/2 stick butter and place in a small bowl. Combine ½ cup of sugar and 1 tsp. cinnamon in a separate small bowl.

6) As soon as the muffins are done, put them on a rack to cool or you’ll burn your fingers off. After a few minutes, dip them each in the melted butter first and then dip them in the sugar mixture. Set on a rack to cool. Admire how pretty they are. Eat.

Oh and I happen to be taking part in a peanut butter cookie throw down with my neighbor at 7 p.m. tomorrow. For free cookies and to take part in the action stop by my apartment then…but be on time or else all you’re getting are crumbs.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

