Good Day Sunshine

Standard

It was a good day and a sunny day. My friends from home were here visiting. I took the day off from work. And I went to the farmers’ market.

Then my day got better.

The plan was to go to the Concert on the Square that night–it was a Beatles tribute played by the Wisconsin Chamber Orchestra. And an outdoor concert means-what else-but an outdoor picnic. At the market I decided to pick up a bag of potatoes and a bunch of rhubarb as centerpieces for my meal along with some fresh basil (and zucchini and a cherry muffin but we won’t count that).

With these ingredients and few other items in my kitchen, I went to work on both dishes simultaneously…fortunately I’m better at this than Rachel on that episode of “Friends” when she makes an English trifle with beef and peas. Good episode. Anyways….

Herbed Dijon Potato Salad

I started off by boiling my red potatoes for about 20 minutes in a large pot. I cut them into small chunks (skin on) and tossed them with:

-1/2 red onion sauteed in olive oil and

-about 1 tbsp minced garlic

-mayo (not a lot)

-cider vinegar (or whatever light vinegar you have on hand)

-dijon mustard (preferably trader joe’s brand of grainy mustard)

-a handful of fresh parsley and basil chopped

-salt and pepper to taste

Is this a recipe? Not really…I have problems with measuring these kinds of things. But using these ingredients and slowly adding on the dressing should yield nearly the same result. Keep this potato salad light and summery by avoiding over-dressing it (I get so embarrassed when I’m overdressed…true).

Now for the vanilla rhubarb crumble. I adapted it from a recipe I found on Smitten Kitchen. But I would say this is my own recipe with some similar proportions.

topping:

-1 cup flour

-1 tsp baking powder

-6 tbsp sugar

-4 oz butter (I used Brummel and Brown and it worked perfectly)

-1 tsp cinnamon

-about 1/3 cup crumbled slivered almonds

filling:

-about 4 cups trimmed and chopped rhubarb

-1/2 cup sugar

-3.5 tbsp flour

-2 tsp vanilla

-pinch of salt split between the crust and the filling

1) Preheat the oven to 375 degrees. Melt the buttery spread in a medium bowl.

2) Mix all of ingredients together, adding the nuts last at the amount you prefer. Then, refrigerate until ready to use (especially since it will get warm in your air condition deprived apartment).

3) In a separate bowl, toss rhubarb with sugar until coated. Then add in rest of ingredients. Layer into any sort of dish you desire. Individual ramekins are cute–I used a deep dish pie pan because it’s pretty.

4) Crumble topping over filling, adding pieces randomly throughout. Then bake for about 45 minutes, or until golden brown.

It was good. This good…

Thanks to all who made this dessert possible (pie pan and accessory birthday gift givers, eaters and spectators). Needless to say it was all a success. I was sweating my way through most of the day, but it was worth it.

3 responses »

  1. I can’t tell who the girl in the middle is. There is a big black hair ball on her face. Recipe sounds good. I think I’ll try it when I need a good recipe in a hurry.

  2. Pingback: You Can’t Say I Don’t Have Goals… « Ginger Foodie

Leave a Reply

